Yesterday I took a hike to Desolation Lake in the Wasatch Mountains. It was a bit late to see the full gamut of colors on display, but quite gorgeous nonetheless. Here are some of the views I was treated to during my hike.

golden aspen leaves wasatch mountains
Golden Quakies with a beautiful backdrop
fall colors wasatch mountains
The slopes were ablaze with a mix of yellows and deep golds
lone tree fall colors wasatch mountains
Even where trees were sparse, the colors still popped

I made good time to the lake, enjoyed a light lunch and then headed back to the truck. On the way back I saw some great views that I had missed the first time.

mill d north fork trail wasatch mountains fall colors
Great colors on the Mill D North Fork trail
aspen leaves fall colors wasatch mountains
What photo series would be complete without a macro? Quaking Aspen leaves doing their thing
aspen trees fall colors wasatch mountains
My favorite photo from the hike: the sun lights up a grove of Aspen trees in the Wasatch Mountains

It was short but sweet; a few well-spent hours in the mountains. I am glad I got out and saw some colors, even if I was a bit late. Hope you got your color fix…there’s still time if you haven’t.

 

 

 

 

 

